Wednesday, January 27, 2016

Get Out! - The Events Column

Photo by D. Gordon E. Robertson
via Wikimedia Commons
We wanted to share some events and activities that list members might be interested in. Have a great weekend -- and week beyond, too. If you know of an event that the 15,700+ members of the Cleveland Park Listserv should know about, email us at events @ fastmail.net.


Peggy Robin and Bill Adler
Publishers, Cleveland Park Listserv


Friday, January 29 at 7:30 PM, Concert: Merlin Ensemble of Vienna. This circle of musicians around the "Chamber Orchestra of Europe" has the aim to combine chamber music programs and music-dramatic projects with German speaking actors like Hermann Beil, Peter Matic, Martin Schwab, Karl Markowics and Ulrich Matthes, on the highest level. Featuring: Martin Walch, Violin; Till A. K├Ârber, Piano; Luis Zorita, Violoncello. At the Austrian Cultural Forum, 3524 International Court. Tickets: Free, but please register at: http://bit.ly/1SL3Hqf


Saturday, January 30 at 1 PM, Amber Sparks, a local writer whose second short story collection, “The Unfinished World and Other Stories” was recently released by Liveright Publishing, is doing a reading and book signing at Politics & Prose. Politics & Prose said: "Fearless and imaginative, Sparks writes in the tradition of Angela Carter and Margaret Atwood; focusing on the extraordinary, she makes the familiar strange and the strange feel like home. Her characters include sculptors and librarians—but also time travelers and orphans whose grief turns them into taxidermists of a very special sort." Free. Politics & Prose is at 5015 Connecticut Avenue NW. More info: http://www.politics-prose.com/events/detailed-list


Sunday, January 31 at 4 PM, The Apollo Orchestra, conducted by Music Director Stephen Czarkowski, will perform: Barber: School for Scandal,Guilmant: Symphony No. 1 (3rd Movement), Tchaikovsky: Nutcracker Suite,Verdi: Operatic Arias,Brahms: Symphony No. 3.   With Julie Vidrick Evans, organist, and Washington National Opera Domingo-Cafritz Young Artists Timothy Bruno (bass) and Kerriann Otano (soprano). Free - but donations are gratefully accepted. A reception to meet the artists will follow the concert.  At Chevy Chase Presbyterian Church  One Chevy Chase Circle, Washington, DC (between Oliver and Patterson Sts., NW at Connecticut Ave., NW) 202-363-2202. More info: http://www.chevychasepc.org  

Monday, February 1 at 6 PM, Snowzilla Tale-Swapping Meet. Do you have a hair-raising story of how you survived Snowzilla ‘16? Were you swallowed up in a snowdrift and had to claw your way out? Did Snowzilla break three snow shovels? Were you sent a link to Tian Tian’s Snow Day so many times that you had to beg people to stop? Now’s your chance to meet others with similar tales to tell. Enjoy a drink and swap stories of what you went through. There will also be a competition to guess the date when the last pile of snow will finally melt away. Free admission; cash bar. Must be over 21 to enter. Register and find the address of the participating bar near you at http://bit.ly/cpfakeevent


Tuesday, February 2 starting at 8 AM, Groundhog Day at Dupont Circle. Potomac Phil, the National Groundhog, will make an appearance and offer weather and political predictions. Phil will let us know whether to expect six more weeks of winter or an early spring. Live accordion music, polka dancers, puppet show, VIP celebrities and more. Dupont Circle, at the fountain. The event will begin at 8AM sharp, Potomac Phil will emerge at approximately 8:30AM. More info: https://www.facebook.com/events/1278741245484701/


Tuesday, February 2 from 10 - 10:45 AM,Groundhog Day for Tots at Tudor Place. Keep your toddler active in mind and body and learning about the world around us in these weekly sessions featuring songs, stories, crafts, and movement tailored to growing tots. For ages 2-4. Parents/caregivers remain with children. Tickets: Children $5, free for accompanying adult. Register at http://bit.ly/1SL7jsd. Tudor Place is at 1644 31st Street, NW. More info:


Tuesday, February 2 at 1 PM, Free Tax Assistance at the Georgetown Library. From February 1 through April 18, meet with a qualified AARP tax aide at your local library to help answer your tax questions and prepare your 2015 income tax filing For more information and to find others sites offering tax assistance please visit http://dclibrary.org/incometax. The Georgetown Public Library is at 3260 R Street NW.


Tuesday, February 2 at 7 PM, Ruta Sepetys, author of the newly released “Salt to the Sea,” will discuss her novel based on a true story, the nearly forgotten sinking of the Wilhelm Gustloff during World War II -- one of the worst maritime disasters that ever occurred. "Salt to the Sea" follows four refugees hoping that the Wilhelm Gustloff will carry them to freedom. You can learn about the event in this video by the author available at: http://bit.ly/23uCGeo  Free. At the Embassy of Lithuania, 2622 16th Street NW.


Wednesday, February 3 at 7 PM, “Founding Friendships: Friendships between Men and Women in the Early American Republic” - discussion with author and historian Cassandra Good. "When Harry Met Sally" is only the most iconic of popular American movies and books that pose the question of whether friendships between men and women are possible. In Founding Friendships, Cassandra A. Good shows that this question was debated as far back as 1776. Indeed, many of the nation's founding fathers had female friends but popular rhetoric held that these relationships were fraught with social danger, if not impossible. Book sale and signing to follow event. Free.Tenley-Friendship Library, 4450 Wisconsin Ave NW. More info: http://bit.ly/1Vt8AlD .

No comments:

Post a Comment